April Free Choice

 

“They’re afraid of me,” I thought as a small laugh escaped my mouth, “I don’t blame them, I’m afraid of myself too”. I let the thought sink in as I spun my knife around in my hands. I don’t even  know my own limits. It’s like there’s something living inside me, a monster. I need to control myself. My thoughts were interrupted by a knock at my door, “Sir”, it was Rebecca, one of my secretaries. She stopped talking when she saw the knife. “Yes?”, I asked as I tucked my knife behind my pillow. “Sir, there’s a letter for you”. “From who?”, I responded curious on why someone would send ME a letter. “On the envelope it said ‘David’”. I froze Her words started repeating in my head. The more I heard the name, the more furious I got. “S-sir is everything alright?”. I looked up at my secretary who was frightened by my actions. I didn’t notice, but the knife made its way back to my hands and I was spinning it vigorously. “Uh, yeah I’m fine”, I lied, “Don’t open it and tell Jessica to have my breakfast ready, I’ll be down in 20 minutes”. She obeyed and silently exited my room, closing the door behind her. What’s wrong with me. Why did I do that again. She looked so scared. I don’t blame her, I’m afraid of myself too. I put the knife away and took a shower. “Good morning sir”, my workers and bodyguards said in sync as they gave me a bow. “Good morning”, I responded while putting on my jacket. I ate breakfast and just as I was about to leave, I remembered. “Rebecca”, she came running. “Yes sir”. “Where is the letter”, I asked. “Let me get it for you”, she grabbed the envelope and handed it to me and I exited the building. As I drove to my hideout I picked up my cell phone and called my best friend. “Hey Ethan, can you meet me at my hideout?” he said yes and I hung up the phone.

 

25 minutes later

 

I parked my car and saw Ethan’s car parked as well. We both got out of our vehicles and headed inside. “So why’d you call me all of a sudden, something special”, he teased. “Just shut up and come with me” he said, man this guy, he always asks the stupidest questions at the wrong time. “Ooh, Romeo’s a little grumpy, what happened you didn’t get breakfast?” he teased and I slapped him on the back of his neck. “Oww, what was that for” he whined. Ethan and I have been friends for 12 years now, we’re more like brothers. The two of us walked down the hallway which led to the living area and sat down. “So what’s the matter Romeo, why’d you call me all of a sudden?” he asked. “Do you remember David?” I replied solemnly. Ethan’s expression went from worried to angry. “Yeah, what happened now” he questioned and I handed him the letter. He quickly read it out loud.

 

“Dear Alex

Long time no see. I don’t need to say much so just give me a call. The quicker the better, and if you don’t, you’ll regret it.

647-707-1923

David”

 

“So should I call him”, I asked, unsure of what to do next. “Yeah, go ahead, let’s see what he has to say now”. Without hesitation, i picked up my cell phone and called David. I had it on speaker.

“Come see me or you’ll lose her too”, that’s it,that’s all he said. “He already killed my parents, I won’t let him take her too”, I said and picked up my best gun and sharpest knife for backup. Ethan was quiet the entire time and followed me as I left the room. I was too stressed to drive so Ethan drove. Something felt weird, something about the way Ethan was acting. Then it hit me that we didn’t have a destination to go to, but Ethan, he was driving with so much confidence. “Do you even know where we’re going, h-he didn’t give us an address”, I said, almost yelling out of frustration but he didn’t say anything. I let go of the bad thought and shortly after we arrived at the place. Tears welled in my eyes as I saw my sister tied in the same spot my mom took her last breath, but I blinked them away, I had to stay strong. People really know how to torture someone. I ran to my sister and just as I was about to hold her hand I heard a gunshot, she was gone. B-BUT HOW, DAVID WAS STANDING NEXT TO HER AN- I slowly turned around. Ethan was happily standing by my car, now lowering his gun, with a humongous smirk on his face. How could he do this to me after 12 years of being by my side. How did this happen so quick. I grew furious. I’m human, but I’m also the leader of the greatest mafia in the world. I took out my gun and pulled the trigger, pointing it at Ethan. He fell to the ground and David, now sacred knowing what I am capable of picked his gun up, but he was too slow for me. The second bullet fired and went straight through David’s chest. I felt a wave of relief, but there was one more thing. “I am the leader of the greatest mafia in the world, they were afraid of me”. I said as a small laugh escaped my mouth, “I don’t blame them, I’m afraid of myself too”.

I pressed the gun to my head. Cold. Smooth. Deathly.

I pulled the trigger.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One thought on “April Free Choice

  1. Dear Wajeeha,

    I’m amazed by how detailed and creative this piece is! Your word choices and the dark spin you take into this anecdote is absolutely incredible. This honestly takes me on a thriller ride which in my opinion takes the story in a very interesting turn. The suspense created in this story perfectly ties with your plot and the detail you have added further on.

    If there was one thing I would like you to improve, it would be the grammatical errors such as “I froze Her words started repeating in my head.”

    Besides that, I would love for you to continue writing these type of stories and experience more horror or thriller type of genres.

    Sincerely, Zainab.K

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *