Two Worlds Apart

Tuesday, May 26th 2015

______________________________________________________

Today I was shaken awake in the middle of the night by my mother. She seemed frantic and since nothing made sense to me then, I just followed her outside into the courtyard assuming it was another earthquake until I realized nothing was shaking.

“What is it this time Mama?” I asked her, furious that my sleep had been disturbed again.

“Shut up stupid, I boiled some water so you could take a shower today, remember, today is Tuesday, there won’t be any electrify all day today,” my mother reminded me in her usual tone.

She pointed at the bucket sitting by the small tin stove and I rushed to pick it up.  I no longer was angry about my sleep being ruined. In fact I felt happy about the fact that I was lucky enough to get TWO warm showers this week, usually I don’t even get one.  I went back to bed with a good feeling in my heart. Today was going to be a good day even without electricity.

_______________________________________________________

My alarm went off as usual at 8:00am. I got up, took a shower and got ready for school. I went downstairs to see my breakfast was already prepared for me, french toast; my favorite.  My parents must’ve already left for work so I called my best friend to pick me up, but she called me before I called her.

“I’m waiting outside your house bro, hurry up.” A found myself smiling as I thought of how well she knew me.

I rushed out the door and hopped into her car.

“Did you finish the assignment,” she asked me as we drove to school.

“Yeah man, you need it?” I asked knowing all too well she did, given that she was out partying last night.

“Ahah duh, just do it for me right now okay, I owe you,” she said

Being the good friend I am, I did her assignment and managed to finish it before we got to school. My friend stopped on the way for a coffee and got me one too.

This was a typical morning for me, but for some reason something felt out of place today. As we parked in the student parking lot and the school building loomed over us, I realized with horror that I didn’t study for the math test today. I did the stupid assignment, but forget to study for the damn test.

Today was going to be a horrible day.

_______________________________________________________

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *